Interactive Map by iMapBuilder
There are currently 24 states with e-waste laws. States highlighted in orange have passed some type of e-waste legislation. Click each individual state for state-specific information. Or see below for a comprehensive list.
Year E-Waste Laws Were Passed:
2007: Connecticut, Minnesota, Oregon, Texas, North Carolina
2008: New Jersey, Oklahoma, Virginia, West Virginia, Missouri, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Illinois and Michigan
2009: Indiana, Wisconsin
2010: Vermont, South Carolina, New York, Pennsylvania
More About Each State Law
California: California enacted legislation in 2003 to establish a funding system for the collection and recycling of certain electronic wastes. The California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) and the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) are working together to implement this legislation.
One of the key elements of the Electronic Waste Recycling Act of 2003 that affects product retailers and consumers is the Electronic Waste Recycling Fee, which is assessed on the sale of covered electronic products. Effective January 1, 2009, the fees are as follows:
Viewable Screen Size (Measured Diagonally) Electronic Waste Recycling Fee
Greater than 4 inches and less than 15 inches $6
Equal to or greater than 15 inches and less than 35 inches $8
35 inches and larger $10
Other pertinent information about the California law:
Key Dates: Annual Reports are due Feb. 1 of each year for all facilities, including collection events. Program start date: On January 1, 2005, retailers began collecting the Electronic Waste Recycling Fee on covered electronic devices from consumers. CLICK HERE for California's Implementation Timeline.
Connecticut: Law passed in July 2007 requires manufacturers of TVs, laptops, desktops, and computer monitors to be responsible for the costs of processing their branded products (and in certain cases orphans, as well) that are delivered to recyclers as of January 1, 2009. The Department of Environmental Protection is currently developing regulations which may expand that list to include similar items such as printers.
Manufacturers of CEDs must register annually with the DEP. Click Here to learn about all manufacturer requirements under the CT law.
Municipalities must provide for the collection of household-generated CEDs and may meet this requirement by working on their own or in conjunction with a region. Click Here to learn about all municipality requirements under the CT law.
Connecticut residents may contact their local Department of Public Works to find out when collection events are being held. They may also want to visit the Connecticut Resources Recovery Authority (the state's largest trash authority) website at: www.crra.org. This website will have a listing of any electronics collections that they are sponsoring for member towns.
On January 1, 2011, there will be a disposal ban for all covered devices, meaning no CEDs may be placed in the trash.
Key Dates: Annual Registration & Fee Due July 1. (From the CT website: "The manufacturers’ renewal registration fees for 2009 are not due until the regulations have been adopted. Manufacturers should not submit renewal registration fees for 2009 until directed to do so by the Department. Monitor this website for new information.")
Hawaii: The Hawaii Electronic Waste and Television Recycling and Recovery Law, signed July 2008, requires manufacturers of covered electronic devices (CEDs) and televisions to operate recycling programs. Covered electronics include computers, printers, monitors and televisions.
Manufacturers of computers, printers and monitors (covered electronic devices) sold in the state of Hawaii must register with the Department of Health (DOH) and pay an annual registration fee of $5,000. By January 1, 2010 manufacturers of televisions sold in the state must register with the Department of Health (DOH) and pay an annual registration fee of $2,500. Manufacturers who manufacture 100 or fewer computers a year are exempted and do not have to pay the fee. Manufacturer recycling plans must be implemented by January 1, 2010.
Manufacturers of covered electronic devices (CEDs) and televisions sold in the state of Hawaii must provide recycling options for these devices. Information on CED and television recycling programs will be made available by manufacturers, retailers and the Department of Health (DOH). CLICK HERE to view a consumer information sheet about e-cycling in the state of Hawaii.
Key Dates: Annual Registration & Fee Due January 1.
Illinois: Law signed September 17, 2008 establishes a statewide system for recycling and/or reusing computers, monitors, televisions, and printers discarded from residences by requiring electronic manufacturers and retailers to participate in the management of discarded and unwanted electronic products. It also sets up a recycling benchmark system whereby manufacturers are required to recycle 60% of a goal that will be set up by the state.
Manufacturers must meet a minimum of 60% of this goal within three years, with the minimum percentage rising to 75% by the fourth year or be subject to penalties. As of January 1, 2010 no manufacturer may sell a computer, monitor, television, or printer to residential customers in Illinois without having registered with the Illinois EPA and remitting the $5,000 registration fee.
The Illinois EPA has compiled a list of e-waste collectors that Illinois residents can contact regarding recycling at no charge or in exchange for a dollar-for-dollar coupon you can use to reduce the cost of new equipment. The alphabetical list by county can be found HERE.
Key Dates: Manufacturers of TVs must report TV sales and total CEDs/EEDs recycled from January 1 - June 30, annually. Computer manufacturers must report total CEDs/EEDs recycled from January 1 - June 30, annually. Registration Deadline: April 1, annually. $5,000 Registration Fee Due: July 1, annually.
Indiana: Governor Mitch Daniels signed HB 1589 into law on May 13, 2009. The Indiana law is similar to the law passed in 2007 by Minnesota, and requires manufacturers of video display devices (TVs, monitors, and laptops) to collect and recycle 60% by weight of the volume of products they sold in the previous year in Indiana. After the first two years, manufacturers who fail to meet those goals will pay an additional recycling fee for every pound they fall short of their goal. While the goals are based on sales of video display devices, the program allows consumers, public schools and small businesses to recycle a larger group of products for free, including TVs, computers, laptops, keyboards, printers, fax machines, DVD players, and video cassette recorders. Manufacturer program years operate from April 1 to March 31 of the following year. The goal for pounds of CEDs collected and recycled will be based on the amount (in pounds) of VDDs sold during that program year. Manufacturers will receive incentives for utilizing Indiana recyclers and for collecting in non-metropolitan areas within the state. More information for manufacturers can be found HERE.
Collectors wishing to work with manufacturers as part of their collection and recycling efforts must be enrolled with Indiana’s E-Waste Program. Collector program years operate from January 1 to December 31. Collectors can include local units of government, solid waste management districts, curbside collection programs, manufacturer mail back programs and any other collection program (in Indiana or elsewhere) in which covered electronic devices (CEDs) are collected from Indiana covered entitities covered entitities. For more information about collectors, CLICK HERE.
Recyclers wishing to work with manufacturers as part of their collection and recycling efforts must be enrolled with Indiana’s E-Waste Program. Recycler program years operate from January 1 to December 31. Recyclers must verify they are compliant with Indiana’s electronic waste management law (329 IAC 16). Compliance with the law includes registration as an electronic waste storage and processing facility or demonstration that the recycler is exempt from registering under the law. For more information about recyclers, CLICK HERE.
Residents can find a list of Indiana collectors HERE.
Key Dates: Registration form and fees due April 1, annually. A $5,000 fee is due the first year, and $2500 every year after. Manufacturer reports for the initial program year will be due June 1, 2011. Recycler reports for the initial program year will be due April 1, 2011.
Maine: Manufacturers are responsible for the costs of processing their branded products (and in certain cases orphans, as well) that are delivered to consolidators. In the spring of 2009, Maine amended its Electronic Waste Recycling Law. The amendments add desktop printers and video game consoles (those designed for use with a separate monitor or television, not hand-held devices) to the list of covered electronic devices which includes televisions, computer monitors (including notebook computers and digital picture frames) and computers. The changes also harmonize Maine’s law with other states’ laws by establishing market share as the basis for allocating responsibility to television and video game console manufacturers (effective January 1, 2010), and by streamlining manufacturer submittal requirements into an annual registration system.
To comply with Maine’s Electronic Waste Law, manufacturers of desktop printers, video game consoles, digital picture frames, portable computers, computer monitors, televisions, and/or portable DVD players that have not previously submitted a plan for compliance with the Maine DEP must complete and submit this form prior to selling their covered electronic products in Maine. CLICK HERE for more information related to manufacturers.
Under this law, a municipality’s primary responsibility is to provide residents with a convenient system for collecting covered electronics for pick up by consolidators who have been approved by DEP to participate in Maine’s household e-waste recycling system. Manufacturers are responsible for paying the consolidators’ costs of handling and recycling and for at least some of the transportation costs. More information for municipalities can be found HERE.
An alphabetical listing by town of municipal collection sites for electronic waste and mercury-added products can be found HERE.
Key Dates: Manufacturer report due July 1, annually. Manufacturer registration and $3,000 fee due July 1, annually.
Maryland: Manufacturers of more than 1000 covered electronic devices (a computer or video display device with a screen that is greater than 4 inches measured diagonally) per year must register with the state and pay an annual $5000 fee that is deposited in a fund for making grants for local collection programs. After October 2007, the initial registration fee for any new manufacturer is $10,000. Manufacturers can reduce the annual fee to $500 by establishing an approved computer takeback program.
Key Dates: Manufacturer registration deadline is January 1, annually. $10,000 first year registration fee, $5,000 for subsequent years (reduces to $500 if manufacturer enacts a tack-back program).
Michigan: Signed December 29, 2008, the manufacturer electronic device takeback program applies to households and small businesses (those employing 10 employees or fewer) purchasing new computers and televisions. It requires all manufacturers selling new computers and televisions in Michigan to register with the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and pay an annual registration fee of $3,000. Registration is required of any manufacturer that manufactured, sold, or imported more than 50 covered computers in calendar year 2000 or any subsequent calendar year or more than 50 covered video display devices in the previous calendar year. Manufacturers must establish a takeback program that is convenient and free for consumers and small businesses and make information on the takeback program available on the Internet for Michigan consumers. After April 1, 2010, all retailers, including internet, catalog, manufacturer direct, and in-state retailers, can only sell new computers and televisions manufactured by registered manufacturers.
Recyclers of covered electronic equipment must also annually register with the DEQ by October 30 and pay a fee of $2,000. Recyclers must certify that they are recycling in a manner that complies with federal and state laws, including rules promulgated by the DEQ, and local ordinances, and they must employ industry-accepted procedures for the destruction of data. Recyclers must maintain a documented environmental, health, and safety management system that may be audited and is compliant with or equivalent to ISO 14001. Recyclers must also annually report the total weight of covered electronic devices recycled during the previous year and maintain records identifying all persons to whom the recycler provided electronic devices or materials for further processing.
More and more communities, manufacturers and retailers are sponsoring takeback programs in Michigan. Many are free. To find out if there is a community collection program available, residents can contact their local recycling or household hazardous waste program.
Key Dates: Manufacturer registration deadline and fee of $3,000 due October 30, annually. Recycler registration deadline and fee of $2,000 due October 30, annually.
Minnesota: Law passed in 2007 requires manufacturers of video display devices (VDDs) to recycle 60% of their market sales weight in 07-08, and 80% from July 2008 on. Ban of CRTs from mixed municipal solid waste passed separately and was effective as of July 2006. This law has been amended to show some changes in the reporting and credit definitions. Manufacturers that produce more than 100 VDDs annually to sell to households must pay a $2500 registration fee annually. If fewer than 100 are produced, the fee reduces to $1250 annually.
In Minnesota, many consumer products are banned from the trash (including CRT containing devices such as monitors and televisions) and must be recycled. Residents can take advantage of the growing number of recycling options for household electronics — some are free, while some charge a fee.
Key Dates: Annual reports for collectors and recyclers due July 15. Annual registration form and fee due September 1 ($2500 or $1250, depending on number of VDDs produced).
Missouri: Senate Bill 720, part of which is also known as the “Manufacturer Responsibility and Consumer Convenience Equipment Collection and Recovery Act,” was signed into law with an effective date of Aug. 28, 2008. This law requires manufacturers of computers to implement "recovery plans" for the collection of and the recycling or reuse of their obsolete equipment. Such manufacturers must also label their equipment to identify themselves as the manufacturer.
Missouri e-cycling businesses may voluntarily register with the Department of Natural Resources. They may choose to register at one of four levels. As the tier levels increase, so do the amount of regulation the business needs to follow. This is a list of e-cycling businesses that recycle or dispose electronic equipment in Missouri and have registered with the department's new Voluntary Tiered Registration Program. If you are a recycler and would like to take part in this program, please fill out the online forms HERE.
Key Dates: Annual reports for manufacturers due January 31, annually.
New Jersey: Producer responsibility law passed in January 2008 which requires manufacturers to pay a registration fee to the NJDEP and establish a collection, transportation and recycling system, independently or jointly, for the recovery of computers, monitors and televisions. Registered television manufacturers must submit a plan to the DEP to collect, transport and recycle used televisions based on the television manufacturer's market share. Registered manufacturers of other CEDs must submit a plan to the DEP to collect, transport and recycle covered electronic devices based on the return share in weight. A registration fee of $5000 must be submitted with registration forms. If a manufacturer produces both televisions and other covered electronic devices, two registration fees must be paid. Recycling programs must be implemented by January 1, 2011 (and disposal ban also goes into effect). Beginning January 1, 2010, a manufacturer or retailer may not sell covered electronic devices in New Jersey unless they are properly labeled.
Key Dates: Manufacturer registration form and $5,000 fee due January 1, annually. Each registered television manufacturer’s renewal shall include an annual report and recycling plan.
New York: The New York State law is the most comprehensive in terms of covered products under the law. It offers free collection and recycling of computers, televisions, small scale servers, computer peripherals (monitors, electronic keyboards, electronic mice or similar pointing devices, facsimile machines, document scanners, printers) and other small electronic equipment such as DVD players to any entity in the state (businesses, households, etc.). Under the New York law, manufacturers must provide an electronic waste acceptance program at no cost to consumers no later than April 1, 2011. At least one reasonably convenient method of collection within each county and within each municipality with a population of 10,000 or greater must be provided. The New York State law preempts the law passed by New York City in 2008.
North Carolina: Law passed in 2007 requires computer equipment and television manufacturers to be responsible for the collection of their equipment (or share of) as of January 2010. The law also requires that a manufacturer must:
· affix a visible, permanent label clearly identifying the manufacturer of the device
· submit a plan for reuse or recycling of discarded computer equipment within 120 days of registration
· register and pay an initial registration fee of $10,000 to the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. Annual renewal registration fees are $1,000. A manufacturer that sells 1,000 items or less per year is exempt from the requirement to pay the registration fee and the annual renewal fee.
Key Dates: The annual renewal registration fee shall be paid each year no later than the first day of the month in which the initial registration fee was paid. Initial registration fee: $10,000. Annual renewal fee: $1,000.
Oklahoma: Signed into law on May 13, 2008 The Oklahoma Computer Recovery act establishes a convenient and environmentally sound recovery program for the collection, recycling and reuse of computers and computer monitors that have reached the end of their useful lives. To be subject to this law, a manufacturer must produce, sell or import covered devices in an amount exceeding 50 units per year. A manufacturer shall not offer for sale any covered device unless it is labeled with the manufacturer’s brand. Each manufacturer’s recovery plan must provide for covered device collection services that are convenient and available, and ready to meet the collection needs of the consumer.
No later than March 1 of each year, each manufacturer must submit a report that includes a summary of their recovery program, the weight of covered devices collected, and the location and dates of collection events.
Visit the OK Dept. of Environmental Quality website for a list of manufacturers who have submitted recovery plans, a list of corporate recycling programs, a list of companies with drop-off sites, as well as a list of collection events for electronics.
Key Dates: Recovery plans due March 1, annually.
Oregon: Law passed in 2007 requires manufacturers of desktops, laptops, monitors, and TVs to participate in a recycling plan or pay a fee to the State Contractor program. They must also have a readily visible brand label permanently affixed to their products. Recycling programs began on January 1, 2009.
Under this law, any Oregon resident can bring seven or fewer computers (desktops and laptops), monitors and TVs at a time to participating Oregon E-Cycles collection sites for free recycling. Oregon E-Cycles collection sites are located statewide and operate year-round. All computers, monitors and TVs - regardless of brand, age or condition - are accepted for free recycling. CLICK HERE to find a collection site near you.
Participating recyclers must meet DEQ's Environmental Management Practices (EMPs). The EMPs ensure electronics are recycled in a way that protects human health and the environment. CLICK HERE for more information about becoming a recycler in Oregon.
All manufacturers must register their brands with DEQ annually. Registration is open from October 15 – December 31 every year. All manufacturers must pay a registration fee to DEQ annually. Invoices for registration fees are sent May 1; payment is due July 1. At the time of registration, manufacturers must indicate which recycling program they will use: the State Contractor Program, their own program or a group program. Manufacturers must meet certain requirements to pursue their own or group program.
Key Dates: Registration forms due December 31, annually. Registration fees due July 1, annually (tiered according to market share).
Pennsylvania: On November 24, 2010 Governor Edward G. Rendell signed into law House Bill (HB) 708. The bill, "Covered Device Recycling Act," was sponsored by Representative Chris Ross. It creates a statewide program to recover and recycle electronic waste, specifically computer equipment and televisions.
Manufacturers of computer devices and televisions must establish a program to collect, transport and recycle a certain quantity of this equipment and register/submit a plan with the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection.
Manufacturers must also share information with consumers about where and how to recycle these products.
Lastly, there will also be a ban on the disposal of computer parts and televisions in Pennsylvania landfills two years after the effective date.
Key Dates: Manufacturers must register and pay a $5,000 fee, and have an approved recycling plan in place by January 1, 2012. Registration and plan approval is due yearly on January 30 after the initial year. Manufacturer reporting is due annually after the initial year on January 30.
Rhode Island: Due to a new law signed in June of 2008, manufacturers of computers, monitors, combination units, laptops, televisions and video display devices with screens greater than nine inches diagonally have individual financial responsibility to take back and recycle their products at the end of the product's useful life from both households and public/private elementary & secondary schools. This law will help the State of Rhode Island better manage an increasing portion of its solid waste stream. The law includes a ban on disposal of certain types of electronic waste at the Central Landfill effective January 31, 2009.
Under the new law, manufacturers must either run their own take-back program or participate in a state run take-back program run by the RI Resource Recovery Corporation (RIRRC).
Manufacturers must pay an annual $5,000 registration fee to RI DEM no later than 1/1/09, and an additional recycling fee to RIRRC. Manufacturers intending to run their own Manufacturer Program or participate in a Group Manufacturer Program must attach a detailed implementation plan to their registration forms. A report must be given to the Department no later than February 1 of each year detailing how the plan was implemented during the previous calendar year. In addition, a statistically significant sampling or actual count of covered electronic products collected (excluding televisions) and recycled each calendar year must be reported no later than January 1 of the following calendar year.
Electronics retailers are prohibited from offering "covered electronic products" for sale in Rhode Island from manufacturers not in compliance with RI's E-Waste Law. RI DEM shall maintain a list on its website for retailers to consult (after January 1, 2009) when determining which manufacturers are in/out of compliance.
Key Dates: Registration form and fee ($5,000) due January 1, annually.
South Carolina: The South Carolina law became effective July 1st and offers free collection and recycling of televisions, desktop or notebook computers, computer monitors, and printing devices to South Carolina households. Under the South Carolina law, manufacturers cannot sell a covered device unless they provide a recovery program at no cost to the consumer (or offers the consumer a financial incentive that has an equal or greater value than the cost). In addition, beginning on July 1, 2012, a television manufacturer must recycle or arrange for the recycling of its market share of covered television devices every year. The South Carolina disposal ban on covered devices becomes effective on July 1, 2011.
Texas: Law passed in 2007 requires manufacturers that sell new computer equipment in or into Texas to offer consumers a free recycling program and be on the TCEQ's list of manufacturers. Computer equipment comprises desktop and laptop computers, monitors (display devices without a tuner), and the accompanying keyboard and mouse made by the same manufacturer. Each manufacturer must submit a notification and recovery plan that is verifiably from the manufacturer. Or, if working through or with other companies, or through a consortium, the manufacturer must provide verifiable, written documentation attesting to its participation in the program.
Manufacturers are only required to collect and recycle computer equipment purchased by individuals primarily for personal or home-business use. If you own computer equipment with no brand name or made under a brand name that is not listed on TCEQ’s list of manufacturers, you can check the manufacturers' Web sites to see which manufacturers will accept other brands. Or you can consider other recycling options (PDF).
Key Dates: Annual report due January 31, annually.
Utah: The Utah bill (S.B. 184 sponsored by Stephen H. Urquhart) was our 25th electronics recycling bill signed into law by Governor Gary Herbert. This law prohibits manufacturers of desktop and laptop computers, tablets, keyboards, printers, televisions, and television peripherals (DVD player, VCR, etc.) from offering their devices for sale unless the manufacturer meets certain reporting requirements to the Department of Environmental Quality. It also prohibits a manufacturer from offering their consumer electronic devices for sale in the state unless the manufacturer establishes and implements a public education program. Lastly, it authorizes a local government to enter into an arrangement with a manufacturer to facilitate consumer electronics recycling. There are no recycling goals established by this new law. There is also no landfill ban.
Vermont: Vermont’s law, which becomes effective July 1st, calls for the adoption of a “Standard Plan for the Collection and Recycling of Electronic Devices.” Through a competitive bidding process, a third party will be hired by the Department of Environmental Conservation to implement this Standard Plan. The Vermont law will offer free collection and recycling of televisions, computers, monitors and printers to Vermont households, charities, school districts, and businesses that employ less than ten people. A disposal ban on covered devices was effective January 2011.
Virginia: Law passed in 2007 requires a computer manufacturer that in any calendar year manufactures or had manufactured computer equipment in excess of 500 units which were sold in Virginia under its brand or license to implement a recovery/recycling plan for those computers at no charge to the consumer. Manufacturers must also affix a permanent, readily visible label to all computer equipment with the manufacturer's brand and post all recovery program information on a publically available website.
For a listing of Computer Manufacturers that have notified the Department of a recovery plan in place, Click Here. Many of these manufacturers have mail-in programs available at no cost to the consumer. There are also many E-Waste vendors currently providing electronics collection services for Virginia: http://www.deq.virginia.gov/ecycling/computer.html.
Key Dates: Annual report due January 31, annually.
Washington: Law signed in March 2006 requires producer responsibility as of January 1, 2009. Households, small businesses, schools & school districts, small governments, special purpose districts, and charities can recycle electronic products free of charge in this program.
To be compliant with the law, manufacturers must label their products with the brand name, register annually with the Department of Ecology, pay the annual administrative fee and join the standard plan or create an independent plan to manage their equivalent share of collected electronic products. Covered electronic products include televisions, computer monitors, desktop and laptops computers. "Return share" is the percentage of CEPs, by weight, that covered entities have returned for recycling. The Department of Ecology determines the return share for each individual manufacturer and each plan. CLICK HERE for more information about return share.
To be a “collector” for this program, you must have a valid license to do business in Washington State, gather covered electronic products (CEPs) from households, small businesses, school districts, small governments, and charities submit these CEPs to a Covered Electronic Product recycling plan. CLICK HERE for more information about being a collector in Washington State.
In order to be a “transporter” for this program and be eligible to receive compensation for transporting CEPs (televisions, computers, laptops, and monitors), transporters must register with the Department of Ecology. CLICK HERE for more information about becoming a transporter in Washington State.
Direct processors in Washington are required to:
Have a contract with a CEP Recycling Plan, be identified in an Ecology approved CEP Recycling Plan, register annually with Ecology, update their registration information within 14 days of any changes, meet the minimum performance standards, comply with annual performance standard audits, and participate in sampling of CEPs for return share. CLICK HERE for more information about becoming a processor in Washington State.
As of January 1, 2007, no retailer may sell or offer for sale a CEP to any person in Washington State unless the CEP bears a label with the manufacturer’s brand and unless they are registered on Dept. of Ecology website.
The Washington State Department of Ecology maintains a database of recycling opportunities available in Washington State. If you are a Washington resident looking for recycling locations in your area CLICK HERE.
Key Dates: Manufacturer registration and fees due January 1, annually. By March 1st of the second program year and each program year thereafter, the authority and each authorized party shall file with the department an annual report for the preceding program year.
West Virginia: Law signed on April 1, 2008. Manufacturers of more than 1,000 video display devices per year must register with the state and pay an annual fee that is deposited into a special account in the State Treasury to be known as the "Covered Electronic Devices Takeback Fund." These funds will be distributed in grants to counties and municipalities or other programs that divert covered electronic devices from the wastestream.
Initial manufacturer registration fees are $10,000 and $3,000 for anyone who HAS implemented a takeback program during the prior year. That fee is reduced in subsequent years to $5,000 for manufacturers with no plan and $500 for manufacturers with a plan. If a takeback or recycling program has been implemented, the manufacturer must provide a toll-free number and website address that provides information about the program, including a detailed description of how a person may return a CED.
All retailers within West Virginia must report to the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection any brand of CED that is in non compliance of the WV CED Registration. Please check the Manufacturer Compliance List.
Key Dates: Manufacturer registration and fees due January 1, annually.
Wisconsin: Law signed on October 23, 2009. This law is modeled on the Minnesota law, calling on manufacturers of computers, TVs and printers to meet collection goals tied to what they are selling. It includes a ban on use of prison labor and a disposal ban. Wisconsin's electronics recycling law covers electronics sold to/used by Wisconsin households, K-12 public schools and Milwaukee Parental Choice Program schools. While businesses, institutions and others not included in these groups may see some benefits from the new electronics recycling infrastructure in Wisconsin, they cannot recycle electronics through E-Cycle Wisconsin. Electronics recycling options in Wisconsin vary depending on location and types of devices. Even if a collector or recycler is registered with the state, be sure to ask questions about what devices they will take, any fees you may have to pay, how they handle personal data (such as on computer hard drives) and other topics. CLICK HERE for a list of collection sites by county. The law does not require manufacturers or retailers to take back all electronic devices, and in some cases households and schools may still pay a recycling fee or be limited in the number of devices they can recycle at one time.
An entity must register under E-Cycle Wisconsin if it manufactures CEDs to be sold under its own brand, sells CEDs manufactured by others under its own brand, licenses its brand for manufacture and sale of CEDs by others and has not designated the licensee as the responsible party, or is a licensee designated by the licensor as the party assuming responsibility. Manufacturers covered under Wisconsin's electronics recycling law must submit an annual registration form to the DNR, pay an annual fee upon registration, report annually on sales of CEDs to Wisconsin households and covered schools, track and report annually the weight of eligible electronic devices (EEDs) they recycle in Wisconsin, ensure that all CEDs sold under their brand in Wisconsin bear a manufacturer's label that is permanently affixed and prominent, and beginning with program year two, pay shortfall fees if they do not meet their recycling targets. A manufacturer may carry out its responsibilities jointly with other manufacturers and may participate with other manufacturers in creating an entity to collect and recycle EEDs. Manufacturer registration fees are as follows: $5,000 for manufacturers that sell 250 CEDs or more to Wisconsin households, K-12 public schools and Milwaukee Parental Choice Program schools during the previous program year, $1,250 for manufacturers that sell between 25 and 249 units, and $0 for manufacturers that sell fewer than 25 units.
A collector participating in E-Cycle Wisconsin receives eligible electronic devices from households, K-12 public schools or Milwaukee Parental Choice Program schools and delivers, or arranges for the delivery of, the devices to a registered recycler. There are no restrictions on who can be a collector. Collectors may include local governments, non-profits, businesses, schools and others. CLICK HERE for more information about becoming a Wisconsin collector.
A participating recycler accepts eligible electronic devices from collectors or directly from Wisconsin households, K-12 public schools or Milwaukee Parental Choice Program schools for the purpose of recycling. Recyclers ONLY accepting electronic devices from another recycler, and not directly from a collector or the Wisconsin public, do not need to register under E-Cycle Wisconsin. Registration is also not required if the recycler only accepts EEDs from businesses, institutions and others not included in E-Cycle Wisconsin. For more information about becoming a Wisconsin recycler CLICK HERE.
Key Dates: Manufacturer registration and fees due September 1, annually. Collector registration is August 1, annually.
States With Disposal Bans/No E-Waste Laws
Arkansas: Law passed in 2007 imposes landfill disposal fees on compacted and uncompacted solid waste to support a computer and electronic equipment recycling program.
Massachusetts: Regulation bans CRTs from disposal, incineration, or transfer for disposal, at a solid waste disposal facility since April 2000.
New Hampshire: Law signed in 2006 bans video display devices from NH landfills and incinerators as of July 1, 2007. Video display devices defined as a "visual display component of a television or a computer, whether separate or integrated with a computer central processing unit/box, and includes a cathode ray tube, liquid crystal display, gas plasma, digital light processing, or other image projection technology, greater than 4 inches when measured diagonally, and its case, interior wires, and circuitry."
Federal - US EPA
In August 2005, EPA finalized the mercury-containing equipment component of the original proposed rule.
In July 2006, EPA has also finalized a regulation governing the waste management requirements for Cathode Ray Tubes (CRTs) that was originally proposed in 2002. The CRT rule became effective on 1/29/07.