Home     |      Contact Us     |      Member Login     


SB 746 was signed on April 1, 2008. Manufacturers of more than 1,000 video display devices per year must register with the state and pay an annual fee that is deposited into a special account in the State Treasury to be known as the "Covered Electronic Devices Takeback Fund." These funds will be distributed in grants to counties and municipalities or other programs that divert covered electronic devices from the wastestream. 

Initial manufacturer registration fees are $10,000 and $3,000 for anyone who HAS implemented a takeback program during the prior year. That fee is reduced in subsequent years to $5,000 for manufacturers with no plan and $500 for manufacturers with a plan. If a takeback or recycling program has been implemented, the manufacturer must provide a toll-free number and website address that provides information about the program, including a detailed description of how a person may return a CED. If you are a manufacturer looking for registration information, you can find that HERE.  

All retailers within West Virginia must report to the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection any brand of CED that is in non compliance of the WV CED Registration. 


In March 2010 the WV State Legislature passed SB 398, which instituted a landfill ban on electronics in the state of West Virginia. Devices covered by this law are televisions, computers, and video display devices with a screen that is greater than four inches measured diagonally.

In March 2016, the WV state legislature passed HB 4540, which repeals the landfill ban on covered electronic devices as of July 1, 2016.  After that date, covered electronic devices may not be disposed of in solid waste landfills on a local level only if a county or regional solid waste authority determines that there is a cost-effective recycling alternative for handling covered electronic devices.


Key Dates: Manufacturer registration and fees due January 1, annually.