logo

Maryland

The current version of the law went into effect on October 1, 2012.  The law requires Manufacturers (i.e., brand owner) who plan to sell a covered electronic devices (a covered electronic device (CED) means a computer or video display device with a screen that is greater than 4 inches measured diagonally) in Maryland to register annually with the Maryland Department of the Environment (the “Department”) in order to sell their products in the State.  Registration fees are base upon sales in the State the previous year.  Beginning with 2017 registrations, the Initial registration is:

  • $10,000 for a manufacturer that sold at least 1,000 CEDs in Maryland in the prior year,
  • $5,000 for a manufacturer that sold at least 100 but not more than 999 CEDs in Maryland in the prior year, and
  • There is no registration fee for a manufacturer who sold less than 100 CEDs in Maryland in the prior year.

In subsequent years the annual renewal registration fee for a manufacturer who has not implemented a Department-approved CED takeback program is:

  • $5,000 for a manufacturer that sold at least 100 CEDs in the prior year, and
  • There is no registration fee for a manufacturer who sold less than 100 CEDs in Maryland in the prior year.  

In subsequent years the annual renewal registration fee for a manufacturer that has implemented a Department-approved CED takeback program in the prior year is $500 (e.g., for a 2017 registration, the Department-approved CED takeback program must be operating in 2016).

Penalties are applicable to manufacturers who fail to register and retailers who sell unregistered manufacturers.

Key Dates:  Manufacturers must register with, and pay the registration fee to the Department on or before March 1st, or they may not sell or offer for sale their CEDs in Maryland.