Map of States With Legislation

There are currently 25 states with e-waste laws (plus the District of Columbia). States highlighted in orange have passed some type of e-waste legislation. Click each individual state for state-specific information. Or see below for a comprehensive list.

Year E-Waste Laws Were Passed:

2003: California
2004: Maine
2005: Maryland
2006: Washington
2007: Connecticut, Minnesota, Oregon, Texas, North Carolina
2008: New Jersey, Oklahoma, Virginia, West Virginia, Missouri, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Illinois and Michigan
2009: Indiana, Wisconsin
2010: Vermont, South Carolina, New York, Pennsylvania
2011: Utah
2014: District of Columbia