New York

New York State passed the NYS Electronic Equipment Recycling and Reuse Act on May 28th, 2010.  The Act took effect January 1, 2011, and established a disposal ban, which, as of January 1, 2015, prohibits all persons from disposal of covered electronic equipment in landfills, waste-to-energy facilities, in the trash, or at curbside for trash pickup.

The Act requires manufacturers of covered electronic equipment (CEE - computers, computer peripherals, televisions, small scale servers, and small electronic equipment) to provide free and convenient recycling of electronic waste to most consumers in the state.  Consumers eligible for free and convenient recycling include individuals, for-profit businesses, corporations with less than 50 full time employees, not-for-profit corporations with less than 75 full time employees, not-for-profit corporations designated under section 501(c)(3) of the internal revenue code, schools, or governmental entities located in NYS. For-profit businesses with 50 or more full time employees and not-for-profit corporations with 75 or more full time employees may be charged. 

The Act’s regulated entities (manufacturers, collective electronic waste acceptance programs, electronic waste collection sites, consolidation and recycling facilities) are required to submit a one-time online registration and online annual report to the NYSDEC.  Manufacturers must register prior to offering CEE for sale in the state, and must meet annual performance goals established by the NYSDEC based on their market shares, or face recycling surcharges for under-collection.  Sites and facilities must register 30 days prior to accepting electronic waste.  Retailers may only sell CEE brands that are registered with the NYSDEC.    

Important Links:

-       Text of Statute (PDF)

-       NYSDEC E-waste Recycling Main Page

-       NYSDEC Consumer Guidance Page

-       NYSDEC E-waste Online Registration and Reporting System

-       NYS E-waste Recycling and Reuse Act Implementation & Results for 2011 & 2012 (PDF)

Key Dates:

Annual Report (all regulated entities) & $3,000 Fee Payment (manufacturers only) Due Date: March 1st